Samyutta Nikaya

The Samyutta Nikaya (Saṃyutta Nikāya SN, "Connected Discourses" or "Kindred Sayings") is a Buddhist scripture, the third of the five nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the "three baskets" that compose the Pali Tipitaka of Theravada Buddhism. Because of the abbreviated way parts of the text are written, the total number of suttas is variable. Some describe that there are 3040 suttas , while the commentaries give 7762. The suttas are grouped into five vaggas, or sections. Each vagga is further divided into samyuttas, or chapters, each of which in turn contains a group of suttas on a related topic.

Five Vaggas(Sections)

  1. Sagatha-vagga
  2. a collection of suttas containing verses (Pali, sagatha),

  3. Nidana-vagga
  4. a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to causation (Pali, nidana).

  5. Khandha-vagga
  6. a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to the five aggregates (Pali, khandha).

  7. Salayatana-vagga
  8. a collection of suttas primarily pertaining to the six sense bases (Pali, salayatana),

  9. Maha-vagga
  10. the largest – that is, great (Pali, maha) – collection

The students can study one vagga by one year and sit the exam held by Central Buddhist Association.

DBC starts the Samyutta Nikaya classes in the first week of January and ends in the end of March. The exam is held by Central Buddhist Association in the second week of May.